Forum Index » Gear Swap » WTB Sleeping Bag for a big guy, plus cloudburst 2

Display Avatars Sort By:
Joseph Valenti
(shsesc) - F
WTB Sleeping Bag for a big guy, plus cloudburst 2 on 02/25/2008 21:39:50 MST Print View

I am interested in buying a new or gently used sleeping bag definitely long and not too constrictive in the shoulder or knee areas. Temp ratings of 0*-20* would be preferred, but lower or slightly higher (less than 32*) will be considered. Down or synthetic are both ok.

I've not been very specific, but that's because I'm relatively new to this and I'm not sure what I want. Make an offer and I'll research it.

Unfortunately my budget is very tight.

I'd also like a cloudburst 2 but I don't know how to PM on this forum so please email me at shsesc (@) yahoo (.) com (remove spaces and parentheses)

I would like to pay by Paypal.

Thanks
shsesc

R C
(beenay25) - F

Locale: Midwest
ebay on 02/25/2008 21:50:39 MST Print View

I don't like to refer off site, but there's a 7' Western Mountaineering Badger sleeping bag on ebay right now that you might be able to get for a good deal (it's an "or best offer" auction). Check WM's site for girth info on the Badger. I think it's one of their roomier ones.

I am not affiliated in any way with that auction so don't hold me responsible it anything bad comes of this.

Edited by beenay25 on 02/25/2008 21:51:53 MST.

Mike Barney
(eaglemb) - F

Locale: AZ, the Great Southwest!
Re: WTB Sleeping Bag for a big guy, plus cloudburst 2 on 02/25/2008 22:11:50 MST Print View

You may want to consider an 'overbag', such as a Big Agnes. Significant room, and it works with an inflatable pad, so they are roomy and comfortable.
Horse Thief is rated to 35F, that seems to be a pretty honest rating to me, the Zirkel at 20 F.
One of the nice things about an overbag is you can also get a lighter less expensive bag, put it inside (hence the 'overbag" moniker), and take what warmth you need.