Forum Index » GEAR » Shelter and Rain Gear and Bivy

Display Avatars Sort By:
Chad Ellertson
(NorthernLights) - F

Locale: Superior Hiking Trail
Shelter and Rain Gear and Bivy on 12/01/2007 12:47:37 MST Print View

So, I am relatively new to ultralight backpacking. My parents were traditional backpackers, and taught me so I am used to a 35+ pound pack. I do a lot of canoing in the BWCAW, and would like most of the gear I purchase to carry over relatively well.

So my first question is which poncho tarp will get me the most protection as rain gear as well as a shelter. I have been looking at the Golite one and the Gatewood Cape. I like the Golite one because it is more affordable and has better ventilation. It would also be a possibility to get two people under it.

The only thing would be rain spray. Since I have a Western Mountaineering Highlight, I need to keep my bag dry. I have been looking at the Equinox bivy, which is very affordable and light but I am questioning its ability to breath. I like the VAPR bivies, but they are expensive. Are they worth it?

My ideal system of shelter and rain gear would be less than 24 oz and under 200 dollars, with good ventilation. Any suggestions would be very welcomed. I really have a limited space in my pack, so please keep that in mine. I use a little nylon daypack, for now.

I mostly plan to hike on the Superior Hiking Trail, The Colorado Trail, and Isle Royale.

Edited by NorthernLights on 12/01/2007 12:50:12 MST.

Jon Christensen
(JonnyC)

Locale: Midwest
TI Bivy on 12/01/2007 13:11:57 MST Print View

check out the titanium goat bivy's they are great bivy's and not expensive.

http://titaniumgoat.com/Bivy.html

Chad Ellertson
(NorthernLights) - F

Breathable on 12/01/2007 13:23:55 MST Print View

It looks really nice, but how breathable? My one concern for a bivy is how much condensation I may get inside on top of my bag.

Jon Christensen
(JonnyC)

Locale: Midwest
Re: Breathable on 12/01/2007 13:33:10 MST Print View