DIY Walking Axe
Display Avatars Sort By:
Steven Evans
(Steve_Evans) - MLife

Locale: Canada
Re: add me to the list on 02/05/2008 15:42:00 MST Print View

No problem Derek. 2 it is.

You'll be happy to know that I put much more thought into the head this time around...including measuring my actual swing radius! I'm no mountaineer, so all input is welcome.

I've already cut the pick and adze, waiting on the shaft from Kevin and just need to machine the ferrule and spike.

Steve

Derek Goffin
(Derekoak)

Locale: North of England
radius of gyration on 02/06/2008 06:46:20 MST Print View

I am keen on your axe because I expect it to be tougher and blunt less, than a Helix because of the titanium head. I would prefer a design that is a lttle better in every way than the Helix (price excepted) so I hope it will be at least as strong as the helix and a little lighter.
I have a degree in Ergonomics rather than hard engineering and I am a carpenter so I have used a traditional adze a lot.
Concerning the swing radius of the adze head. When cutting slash steps I was taught to swing from the shoulder with a straight arm. However with such a light axe I would have thought the optimum technique would be more wristy than that. The swing radius depends on how you use it. I would have thought the worst error would be to have an adze head too curved for the users action. So I think I would work the adze swing radius on something near a swing from the shoulder.