Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
totally off topic
Display Avatars Sort By:
david epley
(RenMan) - F
totally off topic on 08/07/2005 20:19:06 MDT Print View

Hi all,
This really isn't chaff, but I had to share this tale with somebody.

I make my living writing and performing comedy shows at renaissance festivals. In between shows I work as a firefighter/EMT.
The other night we had a unique call. It was my wife's 40th birthday party and my radio pager went off for an EMS call at the local university. I hopped in the truck, headed to the station and joined the rest of the crew on duty that night. Lights and sirens ablaze we headed to the dorms, screached into the parking lot, grabbed equipment, and headed up to the room in question.
We arrived to find a *BEEP* pot-luck gone wrong. (OK, the fact that it was an all *BEEP* gathering has absolutely no bearing on the pertinent facts, but you gotta admit, the phrase conjures comedy.)
Anyway, as we arrived one girl was fuming at the others for calling 911 and shouting that poison control was nothing but a "strategic font of capitalistic propoganda." She, of course, was not sick. The 6 other girls who had eaten the homemade "wild carrot" stew, which happened to have been made by the vocal militant one, were holding their guts, moaning in pain, and basically unable to move. In short, they were way sick.
As we packaged the girls for transport we gathered information and learned that the non-sick girl had gone onto the school golf course that night and harvested what she thought were wild carrots and cooked what was apparently a delicious stew. Within 15 minutes the girls were all feeling the pains of gastrointestinal distress, called poison control, and swallowed that big brother propogandist line of "Call 911".