BPL Community Profile

Roleigh Martin (marti124) - BPL Lifetime Member

My Locale Moderator-JohnMuirTrail Yahoo Group
About Me Formerly from MN and NY, now in Reno, NV, I have been hiking every summer in the High Sierra since 2000. From 2000-2007, we did the High Sierra Trail (HST). Been doing the John Muir Trail since then, every year. I am the lead moderator for the JohnMuirTrail@YahooGroups.com for 2011-2013. I organized groups (without charge) for the JMT, 2008-2011 for the hike I participated in (from 5 to 8 people). I'm doing a JMT 2014 group hike again. See my Google Profile for more and top links on a variety of topics (click on "My Website URL above").
CityReno
StateNV
CountryUSA
My Website URLhttps://plus.google.com/+RoleighMartin/about
My PDF Gear ListMy gear list as of 4/3/2010

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by Roleigh Martin

Showing 991 - 1000 of 1028 | Page: 1 ...84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103

Forum » Thread

Re: Re: Unmentionables-weight?
I'll mention the items I hike with that get laughs. Only when I hike or walk in snow boots do I favor using very old fashioned men's garter sock straps to keep the socks up. When I grew u...

In Gear Lists » Unmentionables-weight?
July 07, 12:42am

Re: Since some brought up trekking poles...
Such a hiking pole has been invented and is for sale: http://www.luxurylite.com/ssindex.html The LuxuryLite® Big Survival Stik 3-Piece Big Survival Stik -- weighs 9 ounces for a 50" ...

In Philosophy & Technique » Large carnivore/omnivore protection
July 06, 8:00pm

Re: Re: Large carnivore/omnivore protection
6. Carry a PLB (I use the McMurdo FastFind, 11 oz) - a Personal Locator Beacon -- for getting help fast if hurt -- I also carry Bear Spray, I use a Carribeaner against my metal coffee cup as a no-...

In Philosophy & Technique » Large carnivore/omnivore protection
July 06, 7:25am