BPL Community Profile

Nick Gatel (ngatel) - BPL Lifetime Member

My Locale Southern California
About Me Started backpacking in the 1960's and still going strong.
CityPalm Springs
StateCA
CountryUSA
My Website URLhttp://www.popupbackpacker.com
My PDF Gear ListSub 4 lb

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by Nick Gatel

Showing 4851 - 4860 of 5285 | Page: 1 ...477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 ...529

Forum » Thread

Re: forced out of ul
... and this is why I have been backpacking solo (with a couple exceptions) for 40 years. :)

In General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion » forced out of ul
July 28, 10:28pm

Re: Day Pack Recommendations
No hip pockets, but I am using a GG Murmur for just about everything (if I can get all my gear in it on longer trips). 7.5 oz and under $100.

In GEAR » Day Pack Recommendations
July 28, 10:25pm

Re: Im Soooooo Stifffffff amd Achy :(
BP more often and make your body get used to it. After years of air mattresses, I have gone back to foam. It is getting easier each trip. I am now down to a trimmed GG 3/8" foam pad cut down t...

In GEAR » Im Soooooo Stifffffff amd Achy :(
July 23, 6:05pm

Re: Hot Trip to Trinity Alps
James, See my post in your Too Hot to Hike thread. If it were me... Poncho/Tarp. Main use would be shade during a mid day rest. If it only tops at 95F, I would skip the rest. But chances a...

In Gear Lists » Hot Trip to Trinity Alps
July 23, 1:21pm

Re: Too Hot to Hike
I live and hike in Palm Springs, and am familiar with all the areas in the link James posted. There are no water sources in those areas. Too hot depends on your acclimization. I can hike in thes...

In General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion » Too hot to hike?
July 23, 12:52pm

Re: ankle injuries