BPL Community Profile

Raymond Estrella (rayestrella) - BPL Professional Member

My Locale Northern Minnesota
About Me I have been backpacking for over 30 years, all over California, plus many western states and Minnesota. I hike year-round in all weather, and average 500+ miles (800+ km) per year. I make a point of using lightweight gear, and smaller volume packs. Doubting I can ever be truly UL, I try to be as near to it as I can yet still be comfortable. I start early and hike hard so as to enjoy the afternoons exploring/chilling. I usually take a freestanding tent and enjoy hot meals at night. If not hiking solo I am usually with brother-in-law Dave.
CountryUSA

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by Raymond Estrella

Showing 191 - 200 of 816 | Page: 1 ...11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 ...82

Forum » Thread

tents in storm
"I mentioned a storm in the Foray review in which a mature maple tree was topped... the FC2P also sat pretty through the storm with nary a scratch." Ha, I have never thought of testing...

In Editor's Roundtable » Big Agnes Fly Creek 2 Platinum Tent Review
October 18, 6:49am

guy lines
They are for use in high winds. The shape of these tents presents a wind-catching face and the guy-lines come in handy then. Nice review. Did you see any weather Brad?

In Editor's Roundtable » Big Agnes Fly Creek 2 Platinum Tent Review
October 17, 8:27am

looks gimmicky to me
The kevlar is only at the toe. What is "carbon threading"? I bet they smell to high heaven after a hike. "Inspired by the Milan fashion scene". I'll pass. (But the...

In GEAR » carbon/ kevlar socks!
October 17, 8:08am

idea: quilt / sleeping bag hybrid?
Something that hits much closer to your idea is the upcoming Navis from Therm-a-Rest. Damien wrote about it here: http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.h...