BPL Community Profile

Richard Lyon (richardglyon) - BPL Lifetime Member

My Locale Bridger Mountains
About Me I backback most frequently in the Rockies, and most often take three-day trips. Over the past fifteen years I've served as a Forest Service volunteer in Wyoming and Montana, doing trail maintenance. As I get older I'm always looking for ways to lighten my pack load but I'm far from ultralight. I especially like base camp trips, with day hikes from a fixed camp.
CityBozeman
StateMontana
CountryUSA

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by Richard Lyon

Showing 181 - 190 of 800 | Page: 1 ...10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 ...80

Forum » Thread

YNP in October
Raquel, Gary's weather advice is spot-on, but I'd take a chance, as October can really be one of the best times in the Park. I'm a Slough Creek veteran, and that area is wonderful, ...

In Pre-Trip Planning » Where to fly for a week in mid October?
September 28, 8:26am

Comparing down jackets and sweaters
Loki, Thanks to pressure from the UL community there are two categories of down jackets/sweaters: -- lightweight pieces, usually with high-insulating down but not too much of it, intended ...

In GEAR » need down jacket advice
September 25, 8:29pm

Side windows
Mike, I think I see them but please confirm that they are there. I may be interested. Thanks, Richard

In Gear Swap » FS. Stephensons 2R Tent
September 21, 10:52pm

Magnificent!
Wonderful photos, Brendan. Thanks for sharing. Richard

In Post-Trip Reports » Glacier: Belly River to the Loop
September 21, 10:49pm

Mystery Ranch
Mystery Ranch packs are at their best with winter loads. Lightweight they are not, but unequalled at weight transfer. Pick the one that meets your volume needs. Cheers, Richard

In GEAR » Winter Pack recommendations
September 21, 10:46pm

Tenkara v Spin