BPL Community Profile

carl becker (carlbecker) - BPL Forum Member

My Locale Northern Virginia
About Me 54 years old 6' at 200lbs and getting back to doing some overnight hiking.
CityFairfax
StateVirginia
CountryUSA
My PDF Gear List3 season

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by carl becker

Showing 181 - 190 of 319 | Page: 1 ...10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 ...32

Forum » Thread

Re: JMT with my 13 year old
IMHO it depends specificly on your son. I took my 5 year old daughter hiking several times and we had a great time. She got tried once and I had to carry her further than I wanted but all was wel...

In Philosophy & Technique » JMT with my 13 year old
December 17, 11:05am

Re: Trekking Poles vs. Walking Staff
I have been hiking on and off for 35 years. Last year I re equipped myself from car camping and day hiking with the family for some over night and longer solo hikes. I purchased a TT Sublite whic...

In GEAR » Trekking Poles vs. Walking Staff
December 15, 5:48am

Re: MLD Duomid as Basecamp
I have used two trekking poles with my smaller Solomid in a fairly good wind with Ti stakes. It held up very well. Of course I use my trekking poles during the day.

In GEAR » MLD Duomid as Basecamp
December 14, 5:07am

Re: Big Bend January 2011
I spent 10 days at Big Bend last March/April. I did many day hikes and a over night on the South Rim. Temps ranged from 100 degrees to about 37 day break on the Rio Grand. I carried 5L water on ...

In Gear Lists » Big Bend January 2011
December 10, 10:19am

Re: z poles
IMHO the difference in weight from 9oz to 6oz while important would not be the deciding factor. Strength for the intended use would be then cost. I went from heavy REI poles to GG LT4 and it was ...

In GEAR » Lightest Aluminum Fixed Length Trekking Pole?
December 08, 9:14am

Re: What trekking poles for TT Sublite