BPL Community Profile

Barry P (BarryP) - BPL Forum Member

My Locale Eastern Idaho (moved from Midwest)
About Me Electrical Engineer by trade. Hobbies include recumbent bike riding, magic, piano, music compostion and of course backpacking.

Backpack monthly with scouts or other small group. Love the exercise and alertness it brings. Ray Way caught my eye in 2001. My load lightened. Because of that, able to go faster, farther, AND still smell the roses. Love the lightweight insight on this forum. I'm also a Teva sandal backpacker. My feet love them.
StateID
My PDF Gear ListBarry's Gear List

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by Barry P

Showing 171 - 180 of 313 | Page: 1 ...9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 ...32

Forum » Thread

Re: River Crossing Camp Shoe ... Again :(
Hi Rafi, In my BPL way of thinking, these 2 sentences just don’t go together: -“I will be backpacking with gortex lined boots, which, if they get wet inside, stay wet.” -“I'm lookin...

In GEAR » River Crossing Camp Shoe ... Again :(
August 01, 1:18pm

Chemicals the heaviest option?
I keep seeing statements like “Any other option will be heavier than the chemicals.” and “If weight is your prime concern, chemicals are the way to go.” It seems with chemicals you’re ...

In GEAR » PCT water filter
July 29, 3:33pm

Re: Suggestions for ways to teach a ul course for scouts ?
I put on a few lighten-up seminars in IL. Even though it was geared toward scouts we also advertised it as a Emergency Preparedness workshop. Surprisingly a lot of older folks showed because of it....

In Backpacking Light with Scouts » Suggestions for ways to teach a ul course for scouts ?
May 13, 2:02pm

Re: CR 123 shelf life?
Just a head’s up on Titanium brand. I struggled with those in my CR123 lights. On high they do OK but on med and low they just drop out way sooner than the Surefire brand. And it wasn’t repeata...