BPL Community Profile

Raymond Estrella (rayestrella) - BPL Professional Member

My Locale Northern Minnesota
About Me I have been backpacking for over 30 years, all over California, plus many western states and Minnesota. I hike year-round in all weather, and average 500+ miles (800+ km) per year. I make a point of using lightweight gear, and smaller volume packs. Doubting I can ever be truly UL, I try to be as near to it as I can yet still be comfortable. I start early and hike hard so as to enjoy the afternoons exploring/chilling. I usually take a freestanding tent and enjoy hot meals at night. If not hiking solo I am usually with brother-in-law Dave.
CountryUSA

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by Raymond Estrella

Showing 151 - 160 of 816 | Page: 1 ...7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 ...82

Forum » Thread

no trouble...
Ha, I was addressing the OP Jen. I don't want no trouble with a perimenopausal woman. ;-)

In GEAR » Addressing ground-side breathability problems while sleeping
November 26, 7:37am

simmering with wood
If you want to use wood as a fuel source and would like to be able to simmer you could go to a Trail Designs Sidewinder Ti-Tri Stove System w/Inferno insert. With the pot it is about half the weigh...

In GEAR » Time/weight/volume - how to make freezerbag cooking actually work
November 26, 4:50am

What problems?
OK, my tongue is kinda in cheek, but I am a side-sleeper and rarely have any of the issues you describe. But like others suggested I take a sleep system rated for the temps I expect to see. Then I ...

In GEAR » Addressing ground-side breathability problems while sleeping
November 26, 4:40am

why karo?
Eugene they are a much easier method for the maker as it allows the entire quilt to be filled at once, instead of filling each tube between horizontal baffles.

In GEAR » Down shifting in Enlightened Equip quilts?