Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter

BPL Community Profile

Raymond Estrella (rayestrella) - BPL Professional Member

My Locale Northern Minnesota
About Me I have been backpacking for over 30 years, all over California, plus many western states and Minnesota. I hike year-round in all weather, and average 500+ miles (800+ km) per year. I make a point of using lightweight gear, and smaller volume packs. Doubting I can ever be truly UL, I try to be as near to it as I can yet still be comfortable. I start early and hike hard so as to enjoy the afternoons exploring/chilling. I usually take a freestanding tent and enjoy hot meals at night. If not hiking solo I am usually with brother-in-law Dave.
CountryUSA

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by Raymond Estrella

Showing 151 - 160 of 821 | Page: 1 ...7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 ...83

Forum » Thread

hat/bala
I take a hat on every trip, spring, fall and winter. Most times I just take a 3-in1 fleece beanie. If it gets cold I wear it with my quilt to sleep in, and if really cold pull out the face mask par...

In GEAR » Recommend a hat/balaclava
November 27, 6:35am

?
Great, I guess...

In GEAR » Q - Down Jacket, proper fit
November 27, 6:13am

Carbon Fiber Poles conduct electricity
CF poles will conduct electricity quite well. That said I have used mine for many, many nights supporting shelters like Tarptents and the NEMO Meta 2. I am using a Brooks Range Propel tent next ...

In GEAR » Use of Carbon Fiber Poles w/ Shelters
November 26, 4:16pm

Don't do that
Chocolate is on the way...

In GEAR » Addressing ground-side breathability problems while sleeping
November 26, 4:09pm

How about yesterday?