Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter

BPL Community Profile

Raymond Estrella (rayestrella) - BPL Professional Member

My Locale Northern Minnesota
About Me I have been backpacking for over 30 years, all over California, plus many western states and Minnesota. I hike year-round in all weather, and average 500+ miles (800+ km) per year. I make a point of using lightweight gear, and smaller volume packs. Doubting I can ever be truly UL, I try to be as near to it as I can yet still be comfortable. I start early and hike hard so as to enjoy the afternoons exploring/chilling. I usually take a freestanding tent and enjoy hot meals at night. If not hiking solo I am usually with brother-in-law Dave.
CountryUSA

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by Raymond Estrella

Showing 131 - 140 of 821 | Page: 1 ...5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 ...83

Forum » Thread

sled for winter backpacking?
I have been using one of these for years. http://www.wildernessengineering.com/BaseCamp.html It is nice to be able to easily bring big loads with it.

In GEAR » Pulk / sled for winter backpacking?
December 18, 11:53am

when?
I did not talk to them at the OR Show (somebody else had that meeting) but did see the pad. Yes it will come in a mummy shape, and I thought they were aiming at Feb, but am not sure.

In GEAR » Does anyone know when Big Agnes will be releasing their Q-Core SL?
December 18, 7:18am

REI Arete
Try the Arete: http://tinyurl.com/ca9926q

In GEAR » Cheap Winter tent
December 18, 7:10am

Maybe when certified
They don't tell what it can filter, or to what size. Looks like a Britta replacement to me.

In GEAR » Soma Eco-Compostable Water Filter on KickStarter
December 11, 10:48am

R value .5?
I don't think it is even that high. From my figures it should add between 0.37 and 0.43 which jives with what Mary wrote.