Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter

BPL Community Profile

Matthew Swierkowski (Berserker) - BPL Forum Member

My Locale Southeast
About Me I've been backpacking for several years, and am not an ultralight guy...I'm probably teetering on the line between light weight and traditional. I normally carry 25 - 35 lbs (total weight including food and water). I typically go on 5 - 6 trips a year consisting of weekend trips with a longer (1 - 2 weeks) one mixed in there. I have been section hiking the AT since late '07, and am a quarter of the way through it. Other than the AT and local hikes I have also hiked in the Sierras and Southern Utah.
StateVA
My PDF Gear ListTypical Gear List

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by Matthew Swierkowski

Showing 131 - 140 of 141 | Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Forum » Thread

Re: Why Backpacking?
Yeah, I know what you mean about most others not understanding. Interestingly enough I first got into backpacking for the challenge. I was into bicycle racing (road and mountain), and wanted to t...

In General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion » Why Backpacking?
March 16, 11:12am

Re: Question for Franco the Rainbow Warrior
I have a DR, and can sympathize with the closing of the vestibule from the inside. I basically do what Franco described if I understand his description correctly. One thing I do a little differen...

In GEAR » Question for Franco the Rainbow Warrior
March 16, 10:50am

Re: Re: Hanging a sleeping bag
I've had a down bag that has been hanging for a few years, and a couple of down bags that have been stored in the cotton sacks for a couple of years. I have noticed no appreciable difference i...

In GEAR » Hanging your WM bag
March 15, 11:27am

Re: Re: Re: Favorite Piece of Gear Purchased? Last 6 Mo.