BPL Community Profile

John McAlpine (HairlessApe) - BPL Premium Member

My Locale PNW
About Me I now have my base weight down to 12 pounds. I'm fine with that. Any lighter seems to make for a less comfortable trip. Just turned 50 and looking forward to some epic thru-hikes.
CitySeattle
StateWashington
CountryUSA

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by John McAlpine

Showing 121 - 130 of 430 | Page: 1 ...4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 ...43

Forum » Thread

Yup....Engineer
I remember this question coming up a couple years ago. I'm a Civil Engineer working for a private consulting firm here in the Seattle area. I've been at it for 23 years, specializing in w...

In General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion » What do you do for a living?
November 01, 9:54am

Good Looking Pillow
I like the fact the pillows aren't filled 100% with down. I never understood why I'd want my head to hit the ground. Will the mixture with climashield prevent my head from hitting the gro...

In Gear Deals » UL Rain shell and UL Gear
November 01, 9:45am

Stupid Old Man
What #@@*** me off is that grandpa didn't even bother to wait long enough to see if the bear was with cubs. He's obviously the type to fire first and then leave the cubs to fend for themse...

In General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion » Sheriff: Hiker mistakenly shot by Ore. bear hunter
October 24, 12:22pm

LightHeart Gear
Lets not forget Judy at LightHeart Gear. She's making some amazing great quality cuben tents from her home. I'd never heard of Melanzana before this thread. I just ordered one of their...

In GEAR » support the cottage industry clothing/gear...the real deal!
October 11, 12:35pm

Type in FALL4MEM
There is a call out towards the end of paying for it that ask for coupon numbers or something like that. Enter..... FALL4MEM

In Gear Deals » Ibex Indie Merino Wool Hoody baselayer $48.93
October 07, 2:21pm