Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter

BPL Community Profile

Raymond Estrella (rayestrella) - BPL Professional Member

My Locale Northern Minnesota
About Me I have been backpacking for over 30 years, all over California, plus many western states and Minnesota. I hike year-round in all weather, and average 500+ miles (800+ km) per year. I make a point of using lightweight gear, and smaller volume packs. Doubting I can ever be truly UL, I try to be as near to it as I can yet still be comfortable. I start early and hike hard so as to enjoy the afternoons exploring/chilling. I usually take a freestanding tent and enjoy hot meals at night. If not hiking solo I am usually with brother-in-law Dave.
CountryUSA

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by Raymond Estrella

Showing 111 - 120 of 821 | Page: 1 ...3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 ...83

Forum » Thread

XLite
Well I haven't popped mine or any of my other flavors of NeoAirs. I have certainly had it in sandy areas but no shredding yet. http://tinyurl.com/adkdyl5

In GEAR » Has anyone actually popped a Thermarest XLite?
January 16, 12:32pm

stakes
They are both made by Easton, just the heads differ. I have had no problem with breakage yet. I have hit them with rocks and a steel hatchet. http://tinyurl.com/9fysgze

In GEAR » MSR Carbon core vs Easton FMJ
January 08, 6:21am

micro-lights
I carry the Photon Freedom Micro LED Lights and they are easy to change batteries if needed. Just your knife tip will open it, no screwdriver needed. I reviewed them here: http://tinyurl.com/b9d...

In GEAR » Photon and other micro-lights
January 06, 6:21am

re
Oh no worries Ian, I saw these bags (and quilts, as they have a couple of them too) at the OR Show. They asked me if I wanted to try one and I told them that honestly I am not the best person to...

In GEAR » Thermarest Sleeping Bags Specs