BPL Community Profile

Raymond Estrella (rayestrella) - BPL Professional Member

My Locale Northern Minnesota
About Me I have been backpacking for over 30 years, all over California, plus many western states and Minnesota. I hike year-round in all weather, and average 500+ miles (800+ km) per year. I make a point of using lightweight gear, and smaller volume packs. Doubting I can ever be truly UL, I try to be as near to it as I can yet still be comfortable. I start early and hike hard so as to enjoy the afternoons exploring/chilling. I usually take a freestanding tent and enjoy hot meals at night. If not hiking solo I am usually with brother-in-law Dave.
CountryUSA

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by Raymond Estrella

Showing 101 - 110 of 816 | Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 ...82

Forum » Thread

Won't break from humidity
There is not enough "water" in the air to fill the tubes. If the tubes are not filled with water freezing won't burst them. So I don't think it is possible to worry about a new un...

In GEAR » Sawyer Squeeze Freezing While Being Shipped
January 24, 6:20pm

Specs?
Why no spec chart? Yeah I guess we can go look at SD: http://www.sierradesigns.com/p-474-cloud-15.aspx Does it use a variable fill ratio, or is it an even amount of down front and back? S...

In Editor's Roundtable » Sierra Designs Cloud 15 Review
January 23, 1:06pm

sat phones
Dave and I carried one for a few years so that we could run the company from the field on week+ trips. They work best at high points like passes and such. If you are in canyons you can get signals ...

In GEAR » Experiences with satellite phones?
January 20, 7:08am

Ski pants?
"And then Roger could afford a shirt and some decent looking ski pants." Careful now. Rog probably made those pants...

In Editor's Roundtable » 2012 Backpacking Light Staff Picks
January 18, 12:43pm

XTherm noise