Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter

BPL Community Profile

Raymond Estrella (rayestrella) - BPL Professional Member

My Locale Northern Minnesota
About Me I have been backpacking for over 30 years, all over California, plus many western states and Minnesota. I hike year-round in all weather, and average 500+ miles (800+ km) per year. I make a point of using lightweight gear, and smaller volume packs. Doubting I can ever be truly UL, I try to be as near to it as I can yet still be comfortable. I start early and hike hard so as to enjoy the afternoons exploring/chilling. I usually take a freestanding tent and enjoy hot meals at night. If not hiking solo I am usually with brother-in-law Dave.
CountryUSA

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by Raymond Estrella

Showing 101 - 110 of 821 | Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 ...83

Forum » Thread

short
Should you be concerned with 2 oz less down than spec'd? Absolutely! I would email him and ask if it got mixed up with another order or something. On your quilt that amount of 900 fill down ...

In GEAR » ounces of down = ?temp rating?
January 27, 1:18pm

for sale
Even cheaper direct from SD right now. $349.99 http://www.sierradesigns.com/p-474-cloud-15.aspx

In Editor's Roundtable » Sierra Designs Cloud 15 Review
January 25, 10:31am

Frozen shoes?
What do you plan on doing with your shoes when you sleep? It is pretty hard to put on frozen solid shoes which you will have if they get wet. You will be in snow I take it? Might think about placin...

In GEAR » layering footwear
January 25, 4:55am

Insotect Flow
I don't know that I buy into the design myself. http://www.insotect.com/insotectflow.php Depending on how often the flow gates are spaced I don't see that it uses much less baffle mat...

January 25, 4:46am

solid fabric