BPL Community Profile

Matthew Swierkowski (Berserker) - BPL Forum Member

My Locale Southeast
About Me I've been backpacking for several years, and am not an ultralight guy...I'm probably teetering on the line between light weight and traditional. I normally carry 25 - 35 lbs (total weight including food and water). I typically go on 5 - 6 trips a year consisting of weekend trips with a longer (1 - 2 weeks) one mixed in there. I have been section hiking the AT since late '07, and am a quarter of the way through it. Other than the AT and local hikes I have also hiked in the Sierras and Southern Utah.
StateVA
My PDF Gear ListTypical Gear List

You cannot send this user a personal message (PM) because they have not specified a PM email address yet.

All Forum Posts by Matthew Swierkowski

Showing 101 - 110 of 141 | Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Forum » Thread

Re: How do You Train?
I'd say that I normally just try to keep a generally good level of fitness by walking, inline skating and weight training. I used to cycle regularly too, but a prostate injury (from cycling) h...

In Philosophy & Technique » How do You Train?
November 14, 10:43am

Some of us traditional guys like you Ul'ers
Hey, I just thought I'd jump in and say that not all non-UL backpackers think you guys are "insane" as the one poster put it. I've been hanging around here for over a year cause ...

In General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion » Preparedness view of ultralight?
November 12, 11:32am

Re: Light weight shoes and my knee injury
As others have already pointed out, I think it may potentially be a conditioning problem. I doubt your footwear had anything to do with it. I wear boots (Asolo Fugitives at the moment) when I hik...

In GEAR » Light weight shoes and my knee injury
November 09, 11:28am

Re: Vapor Trail Weights?